Vimanmek Mansion Museum
Vimanmek Mansion, a three-storey world's largest golden teak building with 81 rooms, originally built in 1868 as a summer house on the Si Chang Island, it was moved to Dusit Hall in 1901 and, quite understandably, soon become King Rama V's favorite place. The celebration for the completion of Vimanmek Mansion was held on March 27,1901. King Rama V then moved his residence from the Grand Palace to stay permanently at Vimanmek Mansion for five years, until the completion of Amporn Satarn Residence where he lived until his death in 1910. Vimanmek Mansion was closed down in 1935 and remained in this state until Queen Sirikit reopened in 1982 as a museum to mark Bangkok's bicentennial celebration.
With its European Style, Wimanmek is built according to Thai tradition, using golden teakwood and without a single nail. Teakwood contains a special oil which makes it resistant to heat and heavy rains, and which also acts as insect repellent. Among the procession of King Rama V one display is Thailand's first indoor bathroom and the oldest typewriter with Thai characters, as well as Thai ceramics, European furniture, precious China and lovely portraits.
Abhisek Dusit Throne Hall (The Support Museum) a one storey teak building built in the reign of King Rama V, is situated on the east wing of Vimanmek Throne Hall. Abhisek Dusit Throne Hall is now Thailand's first handicraft museum where Her Majesty The Queen collects handicraft masterpieces created by members of Support Foundation . In the museum, visitors find such handicrafts as niellowares Thai silk with various unique designs,"Lipao"basketry like beautiful trays, handbags studded with jewels in different designs such as green beetle.